Local 240 2022 Awards of Excellence Nominees and Winners

On Monday, October 17, the Local 240 Faculty Awards Banquet was held at the Arnold Centre on Mohawk’s Fennell campus. After drinks, mingling, and a delicious meal, winners were announced in six faculty awards categories and two community awards categories.

The Local 240 executive would like to thank all of the faculty members who nominated their peers for awards. We would also like to thank the incredible nominees and winners, each of whom exemplifies a passion for and commitment to excellence in post secondary education.

The nominees and winner in each category follow…

Faculty Awards

Award for Excellence in Partial Load Teaching

  • Bob Shields – Music
  • Lauren Johnson – Communications
  • Hayley Hudson – Liberal Studies

Winner – Bob Shields

Award for Excellence in Full Time Teaching

  • Carla Labella – Liberal Studies
  • Priscilla Patterson – Practical Nursing (Aboriginal)
  • Genevieve Cornell – CICE and Career Pathways

Winner – Carla Labella

Award for Excellence in Non-Teaching Faculty Work

  • Jen Horwath – Librarian
  • Annette Simms – ALS Counselor

Winner – Annette Simms

Award for Excellence in Research

  • Alan Bourke – Liberal Studies
  • Christine Boyko-Head – Communications

Winner – Alan Bourke

Award for Union Activism

  • Daniel Popowich – Liberal Studies
  • Heather Giardine-Tuck – Communications
  • Rebecca Mills – Communications

Winner – Dan Popowich

Award for Community Engagement

  • Shelley Rempel – Human Services
  • Marc Laferriere – Justice Studies

Winner – Shelley Rempel

Community Awards

Award for Community Activism

  • Sarah Jama
  • Kojo Damptey
  • Don McLean

Winner – Kojo Damptey

Student Change Maker Award

  • Ajmal Raymar
  • Michelle Rivers

Winner – Michelle Rivers